Wednesday, August 30, 2006

USPTO public forum on WIPO Broadcast/netcasting treaty

by James Packard Love
On September 5, 2006, the USPTO is holding a public roundtable discussion concerning the work at the World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO) in the Standing Committee on Copyright and Related Rights (SCCR) on a proposed Treaty On the Protection of the Rights of Broadcasting Organizations. (See Federal Register / Vol. 71, No. 159 / Thursday, August 17, 2006 / Notices 47489)

Below is are the instructions to the participants, and a list of speakers. Jamie


30 Aug 06

Dear Roundtable Attendees:

I attach a list of all (SEPT 5, 2006) roundtable attendees. The roundtable will center on the three topics described below. Attendees may give their views on one or more of these topics in a clear and concise manner to allow for the most participation:

(1) For those parties who are proponents of this treaty, please explain to the group the reasons for the treaty and the positive and negatives of the treaty proposal being discussed in WIPO.

(2) For those who are opposed to or concerned about this treaty, please explain to the group what form of protection they would be willing to support, if any, for broadcasters, cablecasters, satellite casters and netcasters.

(3) Please give us your views on the definitions related to "netcasting" that were identified in the Federal Register notice.

I look forward to seeing everyone on Tuesday!

Ann Chaitovitz
Office of International Relations
US Patent and Trademark Office
ph (571) 272-7476
fax(571) 273-7476

Ben Ivins, Senior Associate General Counsel, Legal & Regulatory Affairs, National Association of Broadcasters
Bradley Silver, Counsel, Intellectual Property, Time Warner, Inc.
Chris Boam, Director, International Public Policy & Regulatory Affairs, Verizon Communications, Inc
Christopher Veith, General Counsel Office, Broadcasting Board of Governors
Cynthia Banicki, Network Librarian, Patent & Trademark Depository Library Program
David Fares, V.P., E-commerce Policy, News Corporation
Douglas Newcomb, CAE Chief Policy Officer, Special Libraries Association
Dr. Manon Ress, Consumer Project of Technology
Erica Redler, North American Broadcasters Association
Fritz Attaway, Motion Picture Association of America
Gigi B. Sohn, Public Knowledge
Gwen Hinze, International Affairs Director, Electronic Frontier Foundation
James Love, Consumer Project of Technology
James M. Burger, Dow, Lohnes, PLLC
Jamie Hedlund, Director, Communications Policy, Yahoo! Inc.
Jan S. McNutt, General Counsel Office, Broadcasting Board of Governors
Jeff Lawrence, Director of Content Policy, Intel Corporation
Jonathan Band, PLLC Technology Law and Policy, Library Copyright Alliance, outside counsel
Jonathan Potter, Executive Director, Digital Media Association
Joyce Namde, International Relations Officer, State Department
Kasey Sax, General Counsel Office, Broadcasting Board of Governors
Kevin G. Rupy, Director, Policy Development, USTelecom
Lee Knife, General Counsel, Digital Media Association
Marilyn Cade, At&t
Matt Schruers, Senior Counsel for Litigation & Legislative Affairs, Computer & Communications Industry Association
Michael Petricone, Senior Vice President, Government Affairs, Consumer Electronics Association
Mike Godwin, Research Fellow at Yale, Information Society Project at Yale University
Nancy E. Weiss, General Counsel, Institute of Museum and Library Services
Neil Turkewitz, Executive VP, International, Recording Industry Association of America
Philip R. Hochberg, Professional and Collegiate Sports Organizations
Robert M. Watts, Deputy Director, State Department
Ryan Triplette, Counsel, Senate Committee on the Judiciary
Sarah B Deutsch, Vice President and Associate Counsel , Verizon Communications, Inc
Scott Martin, Executive Vice President, Intellectual Property, Paramount Pictures, Viacom
Sean P. Murphy, Vice President and Counsel, International Government Affairs, QUALCOMM Inc
Sebastian Wright, International Trade Administration, US Department of Commerce
Seth Greenstein, Counsel, Digital Media Association
Sherry Ramsey, AT&T
Stephen L. Noe, Deputy Executive Director, American Intellectual Property Law Association
Terrie Bjorklund, Associate General Counsel/Copyright and Intellectual Property, American Federation of Television and Radio Artists (AFTRA)


Post a Comment

<< Home